Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research: Find Information: Using Databases

Using Databases

Coulter Library subscribes to a wide selection of general as well as subject-specific online resources or databases. You can use these databases to quickly locate full text, peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research.

Not sure where to begin? Start your search in a general database such as Academic Onefile or Academic Search Complete.

Have a specific subject area or topic you need to search? Try going directly to a subject-specific database, such as PsychArticles, CINAHL, Gale Literary Sources, or World History in Context.  This may help make your research easier and more efficient.

Although several of the general databases do include some video content, if you specifically need videos, be sure to take a look at the Films on Demand and Academic Video Online databases.

Use the  A-Z Database List to select an individual database alphabetically by name or to locate a group of databases by Subject.

Can't find what you need? Be sure to look at the Subject and Course LibGuides for more resources. (Figure 1)

 

Alphabetical listing of the library databases

Figure 1

Example: Subject Specific Databases - Careers

Coulter Library has subject specific databases on many topics. Below shows an example of the databases that have content related to Careers.

Database Troubleshooting

Refer to these Database Troubleshooting Tips if you get an error message when trying to connect to any of the Library's databases, or if you have issues when you try to open up an online article or ebook once you have found it. 

Need Help?

Coulter Library, Onondaga Community College, Syracuse, NY