Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research: Find Information: Find Newspaper Articles

Newspapers at Coulter Library

Coulter Library subscribes to both print newspapers as well as online newspaper databases. Find local, national and historic content in these newspaper resources.

Print Newspapers

Print Newspapers Daily/Weekly: 

  • Syracuse Post Standard (also available online 1857-present)
  • New York Times (also available in microfilm 1851-present)
  • Wall St. Journal (3 months kept)
  • Chronicle of Higher Education (1 year kept)
  • New York Review of Books
  • Times Literary Supplement
  • USA Today (3 months kept)

 

Database: 19th Century Newspapers

Nineteenth Century Newspapers 
Access primary source newspaper content from the 19th century. Find full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. Emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.

 

Database: Gale Onefile News

Gale Onefile News

This full-text newspaper database has several New York Newspapers including the New York Times from 1995 on, and over 1,000 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers.

 

Database: African American Newspapers

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 
This database chronicles a century and a half of the African American experience. Search more than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. 

List of Newspaper Databases

 Link here to the complete  List of Newspaper Databases – current and historic.

Coulter Library, Onondaga Community College, Syracuse, NY