The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature provides citations and full-text articles related to nursing and allied health. Coverage: 1982-present, abstracts since 1986.
Gale provides insights and useful resources for research supporting health and medicine across a variety of topics, including health care; health issues; human anatomy; medical conditions, diagnosis, and treatments; medical science and research; nursing and allied health; and wellness.
This rich collection of consumer health information provides access to full-text consumer health magazines and reference books. It also includes searchable full text for current health pamphlets.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition is a trusted full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
R2 Digital Library offers fully integrated and searchable medical, nursing, and allied health source ebook content from key health science publishers. Browse by subject area, use the search box, or the A-Z index to find full-text chapters.
Provides access to 3D interactive anatomical models to allow better visualization and understanding of human anatomy. Includes more than 43,000 structure and 13,500 identifiable landmarks in the human body. Reference, quizzes, and periodical content are included to provide additional context.
Finding Journal Articles
There are several ways to find articles:
Use “Multi-Search”, the main search box on the Library homepage. Select Articles from the drop down menu and then enter search terms directly into the search box to get a results list (Figure 1). From your results list, you can use the filters shown on the left side of your to limit your results to only scholarly articles from Peer-Reviewed Journals. OR
Choose “Databases By Title” from the tab at the top of the search box. This search box gives you the option to search databases by subject or my any word in the database name. There are several health databases including CINAHL available. (Figure 2). OR
Choose “Journal Search” from the tab at the top of the search box to search for a specific journal title and to find out if that journal is available in print or online (Figure 3).
Figure 1
Figure 2
Figure 3
RESEARCH TIPS:
To limit your search results to only scholarly (peer-reviewed) articles, use the limit or refine feature in the database. Most databases available from OCC's Coulter Library have this limit available.
Read your search results carefully to discover other useful keywords, subjects or ways to further refine your topic.
Click on the article title to read a short description of the article contents before accepting or rejecting it. Do not choose your articles by the article title alone.
Articles that are not within the Coulter Library's collections, may be obtained through our Interlibrary Loan service.
