Navigating Coulter Library Online Resources: CCN Instructor Guide: Help & FAQs

Introduction

Encountering a technical snag? Don't worry! Here are some common questions and quick troubleshooting tips to help you and your students access Coulter Library's resources smoothly.

1. Accessing Databases & Resources

Why can't I access a database or article?

• Check your starting point: Always begin from the official Coulter Library website (https://www.sunyocc.edu/library). If you're off-campus, look for `ezproxy.sunyocc.edu` in the URL. If you don't see an OCC reference or a familiar login screen, you might not be accessing it correctly.
• Direct link verification: If unsure, visit our A-Z Database page directly: https://sunyocc.libguides.com/az.php.

I'm having browser issues (Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Edge, etc.). What should I do?

• Try clearing your web browsing history (cache and cookies).
• Use a private or incognito browsing window.
• Disable all browser extensions temporarily.
• Try using a different web browser.
• For more in-depth tips: Refer to our Detailed Browser Tips tab on the Database Troubleshooting Research Guide: https://sunyocc.libguides.com/c.php?g=1022389&p=7405427.

What if a resource isn't available in full-text, only the citation?

Sometimes, our databases will show you a citation for an item, but not the full text. This usually means our library's subscription does not include full access to that specific journal issue or book.

• Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL): You can request these items from other libraries through our Interlibrary Loan service. It's a free service that allows us to borrow materials for you.
• For more information and to place a request, visit the Interlibrary Loan page on Coulter Library’s website: https://www.sunyocc.edu/library/interlibrary-loan-ill.

2. Device Compatibility

Do library resources work well on mobile devices?

Our MultiSearch feature and most library databases are designed for optimal use on non-mobile devices (laptops, desktops). They typically do not offer a dedicated "mobile" version, which can make navigation challenging on smaller screens.

• Tip for mobile users: When necessary, we recommend setting your mobile browser to "Request Desktop Site" to improve usability.

3. Login & Password Issues

My username or password isn't working.

• Ensure you're using the same username and password for D2L and Office 365.
• If you've forgotten your password, visit https://cas.sunyocc.edu/cas/login and select "Reset password (All others)."
• If the issue persists, contact the OCC HelpDesk for assistance.

4. Saving & Sharing Resources

Why do my saved article links stop working?

Always use a "permalink" (persistent link) when saving or sharing articles from MultiSearch or our databases. A permalink is a stable, permanent web address for that specific resource, ensuring it works even when accessed off-campus. The URL from your browser's address bar is temporary and won't work later.

• Look for a "Permalink" button: After clicking on a resource, find a button or link usually labeled "Permalink" or "Persistent Link."

5. Ebooks & Copyright

Can I download entire ebooks from library databases?

Generally, you can download portions (like a chapter or a percentage of pages) of an ebook. However, permanent downloads of entire books are typically not available due to publisher licensing and copyright rules.

What are the copyright and usage rules for library database content?

Our library provides access to these materials through specific agreements with publishers. You can usually print or download a "reasonable portion" for your personal teaching or student research. However, mass downloading, sharing content outside the OCC community or with non-OCC students, or using materials for commercial purposes is prohibited by copyright and our licensing terms.

Why are there these restrictions on downloading and sharing?

Coulter Library purchases access to these resources, not outright ownership. Our licenses allow educational use by authorized OCC users (faculty, staff, students), ensuring authors and publishers are compensated and high-quality academic content remains available.

6. High School Access & NovelNY

Some Coulter Library databases are also available through my high school. Why?

Many NY high schools provide access to Gale databases through NovelNY. This means your students might already access reliable academic resources directly through their high school library. NovelNY is a statewide program offering free online access to various databases (including many from Gale) to all New York State residents.

7. Accessibility

Are library resources accessible for all users?

Yes! All of our library databases offer various accessibility features to support diverse learning needs. Additionally, our MultiSearch platform and Research Guides are designed to be compatible with adaptive technology.