Databases are organized, searchable collections of information, including peer-reviewed and scholarly work, but also providing access to trade articles, journals, news, reference works, ebooks, videos, and more. Databases offer curated, trustworthy subscription content, unlike Google's open web indexing, which can’t access paywalled academic content.
Coulter Library’s A-Z Databases serve as an indispensable resource. In contrast to general web search engines, like Google, our databases provide content vetted by subject matter experts. Faculty and students can count on database content being reliable and academically sound. Plus, databases return more focused and relevant results, cutting down on all the extra noise. These platforms even have advanced search features for really precise searching, and they often include integrated citation generation tools.
Databases create an academic research space, free from advertisements and distractions, which helps students find the appropriate information they need for their coursework.
To begin, navigate to the Coulter Library website: www.sunyocc.edu/library.
Under the “Collections” section of the main navigation menu, select “Library Databases” and click on the link.
You can also access the A-Z Databases page directly via: https://sunyocc.libguides.com/az/databases.
This page lists all available databases alphabetically. Each link includes a short description of the content offered and the focus of the collected information.
Use the search bar on the A-Z page to find a database by name.
Use the "Subjects" dropdown menu to filter databases by specific academic disciplines, such as History. Select “Search” to create a filtered list. This helps students find the most relevant databases for their research.
Here’s an example of the results for “History.”
Use the “Types” dropdown menu to narrow for specific content formats, such as ebooks, images, or newspapers. Select “Search” to create a filtered list.
For example, Coulter Library offers 13 databases for newspapers.
Click on the name of a chosen database to access it.
Need help navigating our databases? Reach out by sending us an email at library@sunyocc.edu, and our Coulter Librarians will be happy to assist you.
For technical assistance, start by reviewing the Help & FAQs page.
Looking for recommendations on what databases are the best for different subjects? Check out the guide on Navigating and Using Library Research Guides.
Also try searching everything in our collection in our Accessing MultiSearch and its Key Features guide.
Coulter Library, Onondaga Community College, Syracuse, NY