LibGuides: COM 282: Intercultural Communication: Academic Journals & Articles

Recommended Databases

Communications and Mass Media Collection This link opens in a new window
The Communications & Mass Media Collection brings together information found in more than 400 journals. Nearly 3 million articles on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature, meet the needs of researchers.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Humanities Source provides full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing - for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. Including feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, and book reviews.
Social Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983, nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
Social Sciences Research Network This link opens in a new window
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is a world wide collaborative of over 295,900 authors and more than 1.7 million users that is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research. It is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences, and each network encourages the early distribution of research results by reviewing and distributing submitted abstracts and full text papers from scholars around the world.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
World History in Context is a comprehensive online collection that uses an intuitive, web-like interface to provide multicultural, global and research-based dynamic content that supports today's history research requirements. Reference books, audio and video content, biographies, articles and more. Includes detailed biographical information on more than 100 famous historical figures.

Great General Databases

Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints covers controversial social issues such as gun control, genetic engineering, censorship, endangered species, and terrorism. This database brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazines articles, as well as links to more than 1,000 reviewed and subject-indexed web sites.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Points of View Reference Center is a full text database designed to provide students and schools with a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year. You can also use Encyclopedia Britannica Online to search an Internet directory that includes more than 300,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.

Database Troubleshooting

Refer to these Database Troubleshooting Tips if you get an error message when trying to connect to any of the Library's databases, or if you have issues when you try to open up an online article or ebook once you have found it.

Full-Access Academic Journals

International Journal of Communication
The International Journal of Communication is an online, multi-media, academic journal that adheres to the highest standards of peer review and engages established and emerging scholars from anywhere in the world. The International Journal of Communication is an interdisciplinary journal that, while centered in communication, is open and welcoming to contributions from the many disciplines and approaches that meet at the crossroads that is communication study. We are interested in scholarship that crosses disciplinary lines and speaks to readers from a range of theoretical and methodological perspectives. In other words, the International Journal of Communication will be a forum for scholars when they address the wider audiences of our many sub-fields and specialties, rather than the location for the narrower conversations more appropriately conducted within more specialized journals. USC Annenberg Press is committed to excellence in communication scholarship, journalism, media research, and application. To advance this goal, we edit and publish prominent scholarly publications that are both innovative and influential, and that chart new courses in their respective fields of study. Annenberg Press is among the first to deliver journal content online free of charge, and devoted to the wide dissemination of its content. Annenberg Press continues to offer scholars and readers a forum that meets the highest standards of peer review and engages established and emerging scholars from anywhere in the world.
Atlantic Journal of Communication
The Atlantic Journal of Communication (AJC) is an academic journal concerned with the study of communication theory, practice, and policy. AJC is philosophically committed to an eclectic approach to scholarship and the publication of articles of the highest quality regardless of their type, orientation, or geographical origin. Contributions devoted to significant problems and issues in communication studies and of wide professional and scholarly interest are welcome.

Youtube Video

Using Databases

Coulter Library subscribes to a wide selection of general and subject-specific online resources or databases. You can use these databases to quickly locate full text, peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research.

Not sure where to begin? Start your search in a general database such as Academic Onefile, Academic Search Complete or Opposing Viewpoints

Have a specific subject area or topic you need to search? Try going directly to a subject-specific database, such as PsychArticles, CINAHL, Gale Literary Sources, or World History in Context. This may help make your research easier and more efficient.

Looking specifically for video content? Although several of the general databases do include some video content, if you specifically need videos, be sure to take a look at the Films on Demand and Academic Video Online databases.

Use the A-Z Database List to select an individual database alphabetically by name or to locate a group of databases by Subject.