Shakespeare: Books & Ebooks

This lively and innovative introduction to Shakespeare promotes active engagement with the plays, rather than recycling factual information. Covering a range of texts, it is divided into seven subject-based chapters: Character; Performance; Texts; Language; Structure; Sources and History, and it does not assume any prior knowledge. Instead, it develops ways of thinking and provides the reader with resources for independent research through the "Where next?" sections at the end of each chapter. The book draws on scholarship without being overwhelmed by it, and unlike other introductory guides to Shakespeare it emphasizes that there is space for new and fresh thinking by students and readers, even on the most-studied and familiar plays.

Ideal for students and theatre enthusiasts alike, this lively and authoritative guide presents key information, clearly set out, on all Shakespeare's dramatic and poetic works, covering plots and people, sources, context, performance history and major themes. Ordered alphabetically for easy reference, each play entry features a'key facts'box providing informative and revealing statistics, including a breakdown of each play's major roles. The guide is illustrated with striking performance photographs throughout, and also provides brief accounts of Shakespeare's life and language, Shakespeare in print and theatre in Shakespeare's time. This is an indispensable reference source for all students and theatregoers.

Survey of Shakespeare's works on film listing all the major adaptations of his plays since the inception of the cinema.

The contributions to this book examine various facets of the work of Shakespeare from an Eastern perspective. As such, Fundamental Shakespeare sheds fresh light on, and offers new insights to, a wide range of topics including politics, psychology and discourse. Divided into three separate categories, this volume brings to the fore long-standing, but under-explored areas of Shakespeare studies.

Illustrations have been an important element of many of the most extensively read editions of Shakespeare's plays, from the frontispieces to Nicholas Rowe's 1709 edition to the multiple images placed within the text of Victorian editions. Through symbols the illustrations have explored language and character; by allusion to earlier paintings they have offered critical readings; and by gesture, setting and costume they have redesigned the plays within the visual vocabulary of their own times. In all these ways they offer important exchanges with contemporary social, aesthetic and critical concerns, and, despite being largely ignored by scholars, are central to the plays'reception. Highly illustrated, including many images not previously reproduced, the book allows the reader to share the experience of early readers of the plays. Building on the author's earlier work in Painting Shakespeare it offers a fresh address to the tradition of visual criticism and assimilation of Shakespeare's plays.

Offers comprehensive coverage on all aspects of Shakespeare's life and works.
Illustrated with more than 100 photographs and more than 3,000 entries that offer succinct, stimulating, and authoritative commentary on Shakespeare's life and times, his plays and poems, and their interpretation around the world over the last four centuries. There are concise descriptions of allusions in Shakespeare, well-known critics, great Shakespearian actors, characters in the plays, figures of speech, and much more. Longer articles explore topics such as Shakespeare's birthplace, censorship, the Chamberlain's Men, film, and Shakespeare's reception in such countries as China, Italy, and the United States.
Bringing its readers up to date not only with the latest in Shakespearian scholarship and controversy but with the plays' most recent incarnations on stage, film, and in international popular culture, this is the perfect companion to Shakespeare's works, covering everything from Aaron to Zeffirelli, and from Shakespeare in schools to Shakespeare in Love.

Contains over 1,000 entries listed alphabetically; a full plot synopsis of each play, list of characters, notes on the text and sources used by Shakespeare; a separate detailed entry for each character; entries on the major directors, actors, theaters and theater companies associated with Shakespeare from Elizabethan times to the present day; an extensive bibliography; and an additional section of essays on the life of Shakespeare and on theater and play production in his time." "Aimed at the theater-goer, student or general reader, this reference work will expand your enjoyment and understanding of the greatest playwright of the English language.

Collection of essays by Shakespeare scholars that have been selected for students at the high school or undergraduate college level. Each entry includes an introduction; a plot synopsis; a character list; a discussion of the work's principal themes; information about the style and literary devices used; a conversation about the work's historical context; and a critical overview.

Provides interpretations of William Shakespeare's plays and poems, along with background information, discussions of characters and themes, and explications of key passages.

Volume 4 has a long entry that includes biographical information as well as discussion of Shakespeare's comedy's, tragedies and more.

This 4-volume set includes discussion of Shakespeare's sonnets.