Law: Websites

The ABA provides ongoing legal education, programs to help judges and lawyers in their initiatives to improve the legal system; the website includes resources for the public such as: information on accreditation of law schools, a list of ABA approved law schools, public education (on child custody, personal injury, wills) and public resources (finding attorneys, how courts work, legal aid for servicemen)

This site provides the following: recent legal news; information on finding an attorney locally or nationally; how to hire a lawyer; a legal dictionary; frequently - asked legal questions; articles and videos on certain subjects; information on issues such as accidents, divorce, bankruptcy, foreclosure, starting a business, estate planning, civil rights, etc. The site also provides an basic introduction to the US legal system, certain legal forms and a "Do It Yourself" help guide for making documents such as wills.

From FindLaw, this site provides legal system basics, links to state by state court directories, the role and structure of courts and more.

Powered by Cornell University Law School, this site includes the U.S. Code; Archive of Supreme Court Decisions, (1990- present); Code of Federal Regulation; Federal Rules of Civil Procedure; laws by state. This site also provides laws on popular topics such as family law, criminal law, and labor law. Lawyers are available online to answer questions.

An online tool for helping low-income New Yorkers solve their legal problems. Our mission is to: “Provide and promote access to, high-quality online information about free legal services throughout New York, about legal rights in a broad range of substantive areas, about the court system, and about related advocacy, government and social service organizations. We are committed to providing information that is user-friendly, in English, Spanish, and other languages, in order to help low-income and other vulnerable New Yorkers achieve equal access to justice.”

Although this site features information for attorneys, it also provides much information for the community such as: lists of client rights and responsibilities; referrals to attorneys in most counties of New York; free legal assistance in both English and Spanish; interpreters in more than 100 languages; living will and health care proxy forms in English, Spanish, Russian and Chinese. In addition, the New York State Constitution (current through 1/1/2011) and the New York State Register are available on this website.

The Onondaga County Bar Association has served the legal community of Central New York since 1875. Its functions are to "foster growth of the science of law, promote law reform, to facilitate the process of justice, to maintain high standards of ethics in the legal profession, and support worthwhile projects."