LibGuides: Law: Research Databases

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher provides access to in-depth, balanced, analytical reporting on current and controversial topics. Each covered topic features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens, numerous graphs and sidebar articles, a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts. Coverage: 1923-present.

Opposing Viewpoints

OPPOSING VIEWPOINTS

Opposing Viewpoints covers controversial social issues such as gun control, genetic engineering, censorship, endangered species, and terrorism. This database brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazines articles, as well as links to more than 1,000 reviewed and subject-indexed web sites.

Points of View Reference Source

POINTS of VIEW REFERENCE SOURCE

Points of View Reference Center is a full text database designed to provide students and schools with a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.

Need Help? Ask Us!

Visit (Coulter Hall, OCC Main Campus)
Call (315-498-2334)
Email (library@sunyocc.edu - response time for email questions is usually within 2 class days)
Report an electronic resource issue.

General Research Databases

Gale Onefile News
Full-text articles covering all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications as well as a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.
Academic OneFile
A source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles with extensive coverage of business, the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. There are millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text and also includes some images and video files. Full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995 in also included.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database that contains more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, multimedia files, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.

Database Troubleshooting

Getting error messages when you try to connect to a database or open up an online article or ebook?
These Troubleshooting Tips can help.