Western Civilization: Books & Ebooks

The first part of this ebook is dedicated to methodology and leading themes in current research, organized thematically, whereas the second part offers a diachronic account of Etruscan history, culture, religion, art & archaeology, and social and political relations and structures, as well as a systematic treatment of the topography of the Etruscan civilization and sphere of influence.

This ebook covers the different civilizations and peoples of Medieval times; includes biographical essays on significant individuals of the era; and presents a collection of excerpts from relevant letters, journal entries, poems and more from the era.

This ebook traces the chronology of the Crusades between 1095 and 1291 and highlights the most important figures on all sides of the conflict. It covers the creation of the kingdom of Jerusalem and the other crusader states and their struggle to survive, providing the essential information about one of the great unifying, and disunifying, forces of medieval Christendom.

In this ebook seven experts in the field examine how Europe was transformed in the Central Middle Ages. Thematic chapters analyse the political, social, economic, religious and intellectual history of Latin Christendom, and trace its expansion to the north, south and east. Included are a chronology of developments, a glossary, maps, and illustrations.

This ebook provides 125 primary source documents from virtually every geographical region. In this new four-volume set, important documents such as the Magna Carta, the Communist Manifesto, and the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo are included in their entirety, along with an in-depth analysis of the document and a biography of the author.(s).

This five-volume ebook covers 250,000 years of human history. Compiles knowledge from paleoanthropology, archaeology, geology, and geography. Emphasis on cultural contact and social change over time and place. Overviews of core topics. Extensive coverage of arts, literature, religion, and science. Biographies of 100 leaders who shaped world history.

Provides a systematic and authoritative examination of the prehistory of every region around the world from the early days of human origins in Africa 2 million years ago to the beginnings of written history, which in some areas started only two centuries ago.

Traces the rise of ancient Mesopotamia and the city of Babylon from a loose federation to a monarchy to the rise of ancient Sumerian civilization, with its tales of the Great Flood and the epics of semi-divine heroes such as Gilgamesh.

Through in-depth analysis of important primary documents from B.C.E. and C.E., from Gilgamesh to Ancient Egypt to the Fall of Rome, readers will gain new insights into the life and culture in Ancient History.

Traces the history of medievalism from its earliest appearances in the sixteenth century to the present day, across a range of examples drawn from the spheres of literature, art, architecture, music and more.

Presents a lively, interdisciplinary and current approach to the period that extends in Italy from the turn of the fourteenth century through the latter decades of the sixteenth.

Covers every important battle and weapons system; every involved nation and significant geographic location; and every political, military, and civilian leader around the world who played a significant role in the war's onset, course, and aftermath ... Compiles significant documents relating to the period. Features include ... analysis of wartime conferences, crucial battlefield and diplomatic turning points, and lingering historical controversies.

Offers a political, social, and military history.