Primary Sources: Websites

Library of Congress Digital Collections    Searches across and provides access to the more than 300 digital collections created by the Library of Congress. Includes photos, prints, drawings, maps, books, manuscripts, audio recordings, films, notated music, newspapers, and archived websites.

David Rumsey Map Collection    Contains over 36,000 maps and images, with a focus on rare 18th and 19th century maps of North and South America. Also includes maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa.

Library of Congress Map Collection    Includes maps that typically portray the physical environment and a variety of cultural elements for a geographic area at a particular point in time. The maps in this category show a geographic area larger than a city or town and do not display a subject that is part of one of the thematic categories.

National Archives - Docs Teach   An online tool for teaching with documents form the National Archives.

Online Exhibits    Exhibits featuring online documents, photos and primary sources from the National Archives.

National Archives Catalog   The U.S. Government's collection of documents that records important events in American history. The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the Government agency that preserves and maintains these materials and makes them available for research.

Statistical Abstracts of the U.S. 1878-2012    The Statistical Abstract of the United States has been published since 1878. It is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other federal agencies and private organizations.

Additional websites for statistical data are listed in the Statistics LibGuide.

Hathi Trust    HathiTrust is a digital repository and research management tool for the United States' great research libraries, focused on providing scholars in the digital age with the largest collection of electronic research material this side of Google Book Search, large-scale full-text searching and archiving tools to manage it, and the ability to very easily flip through and purchase full titles in both print and electronic form.