Fire Protection Technology: Books & Ebooks

" This groundbreaking book contains a broad yet detailed coverage of the major aspects of fire engineering. Scientific and engineering details of the products have been obtained and re-expressed in broad terms. The author has paid close attention to the underlying physics and chemistry and some of the topics are complemented by calculations." - Provided by publisher.

The text " is a general engineering handbook that provides an overview for understanding problems of fire and explosion at oil, gas, and chemical facilities. This handbook offers information about current safety management practices and technical engineering improvements. It also provides practical knowledge about the effects of hydrocarbon fires and explosions and their prevention, mitigation principals, and methodologies. " - Provided by publisher.

"Organized as a series of management steps, Fire Protection: A Guide For Facility Managers will enable a facility manager to develop a complete and comprehensive fire protection strategy. " - Provided by publisher.

This reference manual is especially useful for beginning fire protection and engineering students.  It provides the "background, meaning and description of fire protection terms in an easy A to Z format. Many entries include diagrams and other visuals. Also included is a chonolgical listing with brief descriptions of the most notable fires throughout history beginning in 300 BC Rome through 2005 Fuxin City, China. 

The information in this Guide can be used to identify the hazardous properties of most of the chemicals in commercial use today, as well as many that are available only in laboratory sample quantities. With the data and recommendations in this Guide, one can take the proper steps to prevent fire and other emergencies during the use, storage, and transportation of chemicals and can make informed decisions on the procedures to follow in an emergency involving chemicals.

Two volume set with 3,500 pages cover the total spectrum of fire protection issues. Published by the National Fire Protection Association, the newest edition includes chapters on Premises Security, Protecting Againgst Extreme Events, Flammability Hazard of Materials, and Strategies for Occupant Evacuation During Emergencies. Thousands of visuals in the form of photos, tables, charts, illustrations, and diagrams are included.