Electronic Media Communications: Websites

Flow is an online journal on television and media culture published by the Department of Radio, Television, and Film at the University of Texas at Austin.

The Center for Media & Social Impact, based at American University's School of Communication in Washington, D.C., is an innovation lab and research center that creates, studies, and showcases media for social impact.

International organization of more than 3,300 journalism/mass communication faculty, students, administrators, and professionals.

College Media Association is dedicated to serving the needs of collegiate student media programs and their advisers.

ABC News provides world and national news, health, entertainment, politics, technology, travel information, and broadcast video coverage. ABC TV began broadcasting in 1948. Currently, its special broadcasts such as Nightline and 20/20 draw wide audiences.

Al Jazeera began in 1996 as the first independent news channel in the Arab world. Al Jazeera America is part of the Al Jazeera network and is an award-winning, international news channel with over sixty bureaus, spanning six different continents. The channel broadcasts to over 250 million households across 130 countries.

The British Broadcasting Corporation began broadcasting in 1922 and is now a global provider of news, television, and radio programming. It offers objective news from throughout the world. The above link will take you to news and analysis in 27 languages, including Welsh and Swahili.

This comprehensive broadcasting company covers news, sports, business and entertainment, with a complete guide to CBC-TV and CBC-Radio. CBC-TV began broadcasting in 1952.

CBS News is a highly-respected major news network. It includes all breaking world and national news, business, politics, sports, and entertainment. The very successful 60 Minutes, broadcast weekly by CBS, began in 1968; it offers interviews, investigative reports and more.

CNN provides the latest top stories, business, weather, politics and entertainment from around the United States, and around the world. It began broadcasting in 1980 and became the first station to provide 24 hour news coverage.

Corporation for Public Broadcasting (CPB) is a private non-profit corporation formed in 1967 by Congress. The CPB funds local radio and television stations, provides non-commercial programming, and makes improvements to the public broadcasting system.

The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) was established in 1934 . This independent government agency regulates interstate and international communications by television, radio, cable, wire and satellite.

Library of American Broadcasting's main mission is to make the past and present of broadcasting accessible to the world at large. The breadth and depth of LAB collections are indicated by its 8,000 books, more than 6,000 audio tapes, 7,000 pamphlets, 300 periodical titles, 8,000 recorded discs, 2,000 scripts and a growing collection of video and film material.

National Public Radio (NPR) is a producer and distributor of noncommercial news, talk, and entertainment programming. A privately supported, not-for-profit membership organization, NPR works in partnership with independently operated, noncommercial public radio stations around the United States.

NBC TV started broadcasting in New York in 1939. This major news network provides the latest U.S. and world news including subjects such as business, politics, science, technology, health, and more. In 1954, NBC made its first color broadcast nationwide.