Children's Literature: Websites

This is a collection of reviews of great books for kids, ideas of ways to use them in the classroom and collections of books and activities about particular subjects, curriculum areas, themes and professional topics.

This site offers links that "provide access to classic and modern children's books including picture books."

Encouraging high standards of criticism, scholarship, research, and teaching in children’s literature. The Children’s Literature Association (ChLA) is a non-profit association of scholars, critics, professors, students, librarians, teachers and institutions dedicated to the academic study of literature for children.

The International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY) is a non-profit organization which represents an international network of people from all over the world who are committed to bringing books and children together.

The ICDL Foundation's goal is to build a collection of books that represents outstanding historical and contemporary books from throughout the world.

This special collection presents children’s books selected from the General and Rare Book Collections at the Library of Congress. The collection includes classic works that are still read by children today, and lesser-known treasures drawn from the Library’s extensive collection of historically significant children’s books. The books in this collection were published in the United States and England before 1924, are no longer under copyright, and free to read, share, and reuse however you’d like.

Open Library's Student Library, a School Library designed for a k-12 audience.

One of the goals of SWWS is to provide substantive, critical reviews of children’s and young adult books in order to create awareness of the omissions, myths, stereotypes, and distortions that misrepresent people of color.

Stories and poems by classic authors including Lewis Carroll, Rudyard Kipling. Oscar Wilde and Charles Dickens, Edward Lear and others.

StoryPlace came about to provide children with the virtual experience of going to the Library and participating in the same types of activities the Library offers at its physical locations. First launched in 2000, StoryPlace has been newly redesigned to present favorite stories and activities in a format compatible with desktop and mobile devices.