LibGuides: Sports Medicine: Home

Need Help? Ask Us!

Visit (Coulter Hall, OCC Main Campus)
Call (315-498-2334)
Email (library@sunyocc.edu - response time for email questions is usually within 2 class days)
Report an electronic resource issue.

Welcome!

Sports Medicine

This guide is devoted to helping students and faculty find the best Sports Medicine resources using Coulter Library's research tools and librarian selected websites. Please use the tabs at the top of the page for more information.

Best Bets

Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine This link opens in a new window
This predominantly full-text database includes over 60 journals in the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine. Topics include proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more. Coverage begins in 1980.
Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Provides access to 3D interactive anatomical models to allow better visualization and understanding of human anatomy. Includes more than 43,000 structure and 13,500 identifiable landmarks in the human body. Reference, quizzes, and periodical content are included to provide additional context.

Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine by Lyle J. Micheli
Call Number: REF RC1206 .E53 2011
ISBN: 9781412961158
Publication Date: 2010-11-17
"Presenting state-of-the-art research and evidence-based applications, this four-volume resource provides the most comprehensive and accessible information available on sports medicine. The Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine describes all aspects of the field with perspectives, concepts, and methods from the medical, behavioral, and social sciences and physical education." - Provided by publisher

The American Medical Society for Sports Medicine (AMSSM)
The American Medical Society for Sports Medicine (AMSSM) is a professional organization specifically geared towards physicians and medical practitioners in the field of sports medicine. The AMSSM was formed in 1991 to fill a void that has existed in sports medicine from its earliest beginnings. The founders realized that while there were several physician organizations which supported sports medicine, there was not a forum specific for primary care non-surgical sports medicine physicians. This organization seeks to fill that void through education, research, advocacy, patient care, communications, infrastructure, and collaboration.