LibGuides: International Students / ESOL: For ESL Instructors

Online Databases and Websites

Education Source
Education Source provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers all levels of education — from early childhood to higher education — as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing. Use any of the following search terms to retrieve relevant, full text,peer-reviewed articles: Learning English, Learning English as a Second Language, Learning English as a Foreign Language

Media

Easy English by Living Language Staff
Call Number: MEDIA CD Miscellaneous Language CD3603
ISBN: 1400020859
Publication Date: 2004-02-17
A 3-disc set of 20 lessons with accompanying book for learning English.
Teach Yourself American English by Sandra Stevens
Call Number: MEDIA CD Miscellaneous Language CD 3604
ISBN: 0071434585
Publication Date: 2004-12-30
A 2-disc set of 10 lessons with accompanying textbook for learning English.

BBC Learning English
About BBC Learning English " As part of the BBC World Service, BBC Learning English has been teaching English to global audiences since 1943, offering free audio, video and text materials to learners around the world."
TED Talks: Language
TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to education — in more than 100 languages.
Activities for ESL Students
Quizzes, exercises and puzzles for English language learners of all levels. Provided by The Internet TESL Journal (iteslj.org)

OER Resources

Merlot
The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
Open Library Textbook
OER Commons ESL Resources

Books and EBooks

Supporting English Learners with Exceptional Needs by June Lucas Zillich; Patricia M. Rice Doran; Amy Noggle; Heather Wayson Wilson
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781945351235
Publication Date: 2019-02-15
This book provides a discussion of strengths-based and deficit-based mindsets, collaborative problem-solving, and universal supports for curriculum access.- Provided by Publisher
Linguistic Perspectives on English Grammar : A Guide for EFL Teachers by Martin J. Endley
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781617351686
Publication Date: 2010
"The proposed book is best described as a linguistically oriented textbook taking the grammar of English as its subject matter. It is directed to professional teachers of English (ESL and EFL) and their students, as well as those currently training to become teachers of English. The book is also likely to be of interest to interpreters, translators and other English language professionals." Provided by publisher
Dispelling Misconceptions about English Language Learners by Barbara Gottschalk
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781416628286
Publication Date: 2019-10-30
A compelling combination of research and practical advice from an experienced ELL educator that helps teachers clearly understand how to better reach English language learners
Teaching Adult ESOL by Anne Paton; Meryl Wilkins
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780335240227
Publication Date: 2009-01-11
Are you teaching or training to teach English to adult speakers of other languages? This books blends together research, theory and practical pedagogy and links this directly with the context of teaching English to adults. It includes reflective tasks, which encourage you to develop and apply your theoretical knowledge to your own experiences.- Provided by Publisher